Mélanie Leroux was twenty years old when she decided to become a professional nose. This vocation arose during her many travels across the globe, while she loved to capture and conserve the memory of her olfactory revelations.
In parallel of her creations for Mona Di Orio, Candora, Franck Boclet and Marianne Guedin, Mélanie develops the PREMIERE NOTETM collection of emotions around natural raw materials, selected with care, which she collects at the heart of their origin region.
Each fragrance makes us live an olfactory memory from a faraway region. They form a unique and universal collection where each fragrance is created in contrast, allowing audacious combinations.

Mélanie Leroux


Sensitive to design, fashion and art, Jérôme Di Marino chose, very young, a carrier path in perfume. After a chemistry degree, he entered a nose training at ISIPCA.
Graduated in 2008, he joined Givaudan as a trainee perfumer with Nathalie Cetto.
In 2011, he enriched his training close to Françoise Donche at the olfactory cell of Givenchy Perfumes. She sharpened his sense of development and his perception of the stakes of perfume creation. Jérôme arrived at Takasago in 2012. Trained during 3 years by Francis Kurkdjian, who passed on his knowledge and rigor, Jérôme learned how to translate his ideas in perfume. It seems critical to him to be fed on and inspired by other universes: «Perfumery, as all other arts, is a sensitive reflect of society.»

  • Première Note: What was the inspiration of the collection ?

    Mélanie Leroux: “The main idea was to create a collection by working different olfactory families. I have selected the most emblematic notes and raw materials of each family: orange for citrus, lily and rose for floral, cedar and vetiver for woody, while adding an elegant modernity. I created simultaneously the five notes by working them on the same way, in order to have this spirit of collection and unity within the fragrances. For each note, I have selected the material’s origin region that was to me the most emblematic, for example Java Island for vetiver and Atlas for cedar. I have been inspirited by the origin of these raw materials, and I developed these perfumes with the desire to make people traveling, by remembering them memories until the origin of the selected material.

    « I have selected the most emblematic notes and raw materials of each family »

  • PN: Create perfumes that can be superimposed was a difficult challenge to achieve ?

    M.L.: “As I said, it was a challenge! But the fundamental idea was above all else to sublimate a raw material. Each composition is a real perfume that can be wore alone. The fact to construct each perfume around one raw material helps their superimposition. I love this possibility for people to recreate at home a composition thanks to an olfactory contrast, it’s very original. This allows them to create their own perfume.

  • PN: How did you select raw materials ?

    M.L.: “I have selected natural raw materials. Most of them are essential oils. I only did reconstitution for synthetic notes as white musk or for notes that didn’t exist in absolute or essence as flowers named silent, especially lily and lily-of-the-valley.
    All raw materials are treated locally or in Grasse. I bring a special attention to materials harvest and I love to assist to the harvest of these ingredients. When I had the idea of developing Rosa Damas, I traveled to Isparta valley in order to be present for rose’s harvest. This allows me to control the material treatment and to inspire me by the origin region, by the cradle of these materials in the creation of each perfume.

    « I only did reconstitution for synthetic notes as white musk or for notes that didn’t exist in absolute or essence »

  • PN: What was your common thread for the development of each perfume ?

    M.L.: “The creation of these perfumes started by the selection of an olfactory family. Then I chose one emblematic note within the family and I selected its first place of origin, the most common. I constructed the perfumes around this note. The other notes highlight the First Note (Premiere Note). They were selected in link with the place of origin of this First Note, in order to reconstitute the heart of the region. My desire with this collection was to do “belle parfumerie” by favoring raw materials quality and choice, while treating them in a modern way.

    I chose orange from Calabria, in the South of Italy, for its bitter taste.
    For the lily, I realized a reconstitution of Toscane universe with its numerous gardens and vineyards, and its numerous white flowers. I created Lys Toscana by trying to reconstitute the elegance of the region.
    The rose from Damask was obvious. It is the older cultivated rose and the most famous. It is cultivated in Turkey but conserves its legendary name Rose from Damask.
    For the cedar, different varieties are used in perfumery. The most used is the one from Virginia, which has a “pencil lead” aspect. I preferred employ the cedar from Atlas that inspires me more. I wanted to work a woody-leathered note and Atlas cedar was more adapted for that thanks to its animal aspect.
    For the vetiver, I selected Java wood that is more earthy and smoked.

Yourcreation.fr

Mélanie Leroux a vingt ans quand elle décide de devenir nez. Cette vocation est née de ses différents voyages où elle aime capturer et garder en mémoire ses révélations olfactives.
En parallèle de ses créations pour les marques Mona Di Orio, Candora, Franck Boclet et Marianne Guedin, Mélanie développe la collection d’émotions PREMIERE NOTETM autour de matières premières naturelles, sélectionnées avec soin, qu’elle va recueillir au cœur de leur région d’origine.
Chaque jus nous fait vivre un souvenir olfactif d’une région lointaine. Ils composent une collection singulière universelle où chaque eau de parfum est travaillée en contraste, permettant des associations audacieuses.

Mélanie Leroux


Ayant vécu plus d’une dizaine d’années à Nice, berceau de la parfumerie, il se destine tout naturellement, après une licence de chimie et l’intégration de l’ISIPCA, à l’univers du parfum.
En 2008, il intègre Givaudan en tant qu’apprenti parfumeur aux côtés de Nathalie Cetto.
En 2011, il rejoint la cellule olfactive de Givenchy auprès de Françoise Donche. Jérôme Di Marino arrive chez Takasago en 2012, où il est formé par Francis Kurkdjian au métier de parfumeur. Se nourrir et s’inspirer d’autres univers lui semble primordial puisque « la parfumerie, comme tous les autres arts, n’est autre qu’un reflet sensible de la société ». Il développe en 2015 la collection Premiers Bois PREMIERE NOTETM.

  • Première Note : Quelle a été l’inspiration de la collection ?

    Mélanie Leroux : « L’idée principale était de créer une collection en travaillant différentes familles olfactives. J’ai sélectionné les notes et matières premières les plus emblématiques de chaque famille : l’orange pour les hespéridés, le lys et la rose pour les floraux, le cèdre et le vétiver pour les boisés, tout en y ajoutant une modernité élégante. J’ai créé les 5 notes simultanément, en les travaillant de la même façon pour donner cet esprit de Collection et d’unité au sein des parfums. Pour chaque note, j’ai sélectionné la région d’origine de la matière qui était pour moi la plus emblématique, par exemple l’ile de Java pour le vétiver et l’Atlas pour le cèdre. J’ai été inspirée par l’origine de ces matières premières, et j’ai développé ces parfums en ayant l’envie de faire voyager les personnes, en leur faisant remonter des souvenirs jusqu’à l’origine de la matière sélectionnée. »

    « J’ai sélectionné les notes et matières premières les plus emblématiques de chaque famille »

  • PN : Créer des parfums pouvant se superposer était-il un défi dur à réaliser ?

    M.L. : « Comme je le disais, c’était un challenge ! Mais l’idée fondamentale était avant tout de sublimer une matière première. Chaque composition représente un véritable parfum qui peut être porté seul. Le fait d’avoir construit chaque parfum autour d’une matière première facilite leur superposition. La possibilité pour les personnes de recréer chez soi une composition grâce à un contraste olfactif est très originale. Cela leur permet de créer leur propre parfum. »

  • PN : Comment avez-vous sélectionné les matières premières ?

    M.L. : « J’ai sélectionné des matières premières naturelles. La plupart sont des huiles essentielles. J’ai fait des reconstitutions uniquement pour les notes artificielles comme les muscs blancs ou pour les notes qui n’existent pas en absolu ou essence comme les fleurs dites muettes, notamment le muguet et le lys.
    Toutes les matières premières sont traitées localement ou à Grasse. Je porte une attention particulière à la récolte de ces éléments et j’assiste à la cueillette de ces ingrédients. Lorsque j’ai eu l’idée de créer Rosa Damas, je suis partie dans la vallée d’Isparta afin d’assister à la récolte de la rose. Cela me permet de vérifier le traitement des matières et de m’inspirer de la région d’origine, du berceau de ces matières dans la création de chaque parfum.
    »

    « J’ai fait des reconstitutions uniquement pour les notes artificielles comme les muscs blancs ou pour les notes qui n’existent pas en absolu ou essence »

  • PN : Quel a été votre fil conducteur pour la construction de chaque parfum ?

    M.L. : « La création de ces parfums a débuté par la sélection d’une famille olfactive. J’ai ensuite choisi une note emblématique de la famille, et j’ai sélectionné son lieu d’origine premier, son origine la plus connue. J’ai construit les parfums autour de cette note. Les autres notes mettent en avant la Première Note et ont été choisies en accord avec le lieu d’origine de la Première Note, de façon à reconstituer le cœur de la région. Mon envie avec cette collection était de faire de la belle parfumerie, en privilégiant la qualité et le choix des matières premières tout en les traitant de façon moderne.

    J’ai choisi l’orange de Calabre, au sud de l’Italie, pour son côté amer.
    Pour le lys, j’ai réalisé une reconstitution de l’univers de la Toscane avec ses nombreux jardins et vignes, et ses fleurs blanches très présentes. J’ai créé Lys Toscana en essayant de reconstituer l’élégance de cette région.
    La rose de Damas était une évidence. C’est la plus vieille rose cultivée et la plus célèbre. Elle est cultivée en Turquie mais garde son nom légendaire Rose de Damas.
    Pour le cèdre, différentes variétés sont utilisées en parfumerie. Le plus utilisé est celui de Virginie, qui a un côté « mine de crayon ». J’ai préféré utiliser le cèdre d’Atlas qui m’inspirait plus. Je voulais travailler une note boisée-cuirée, et le cèdre de l’Atlas s’y prêtait davantage avec son côté plus animal.
    Pour le vétiver, j’ai sélectionné le bois de Java qui est plus terreux et plus fumé.
    »

Yourcreation.fr